Sunday, February 10, 2008

Guitar madness

Original Silence - The First Original Silence (Smalltown Superjazz, 2007) ***

The Original Silence is a band consisting of Mats Gustafsson on sax, Paal Nilssen-Love on drums, Terrie Ex and Thurston Moore on guitar, Massimo Pupillo of Zu on bass, and guitarist Jim O'Rourke on electronics. With these musicians you know you can expect anything, and "anything" is what you get : chaos, noice, violence, experiments, mad stuff and interesting interactions, pumping, hard and wild. It doesn't quite succeed, but at least they tried.

Listen and download from eMusic.

Free Form Funky Freqs - Urban Mythology (Thirsty Ear, 2007) **

Energy is what you get here. Some funky stuff too. But nothing new. Entertaining, but only for a while. With Vernon Reid on guitar, Jamaladeen Tacuma on bass and Calvin C. Weston on drums. We heard all three musicians in more inspired environments.

Elliott Sharp's Terraplane - Forgery (Intuition, 2007) **

Elliott Sharp's Terraplane is a blues band of jazz musicians. The playing is good, the music boring and on the beaten track, without adding anything of new and of value. In this genre we've heard much better. With Sharp on all sorts of guitars, Curtis Fowlkes on trombone, Alex Harding on baritone saxophone, David Hofstra on bass and tuba, Toney Lewis on drums, Eric Mingus and Tracie Morris on vocals. I don't think many people were waiting for this kind of music.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I have been listening "Original Silence - The First Original Silence" , for first time, for three days. Masterpiece!!

Post a Comment

Please note that comments on posts do not appear immediately - unfortunately we must filter for spam and other idiocy.